Season for Change

Liz_4_51625 day blog hiatus. Unintentional, yes. Necessary, absolutely. I am full of updates, so hold tight.

First and foremost, holy October! My favorite month has seriously passed in the blink of an eye. With Baseball Season winding down, I am walking around with a sense of impending doom, for what in the world am I suppose to do from November-April until the sport which I literally live by comes back around. Honestly, I’m not sure, but it’s sure to include some sort of sport depression. Don’t judge me; we all have that one thing, be it a sport, a hobby, a job, or whatever, that gives us just a little extra meaning in life. It may be a little bit shallow that my “one thing” is baseball, but when you grow up in a Baseball Town, it’s kind of engrained in you from birth to live and die by the Cardinals.

Up next, the little thing I like to call the real world, aka living and employment. As you know {or maybe you didn’t}, I interned over the summer in Birmingham, AL. At the end of my internship, I was unfortunately left with no income to support my rent, so I moved back home to St. Louis. Unsure about the future, I took an opportunity to be a product ambassador for a company in St. Louis that I had had my eye set on since college. At first it sounded like the perfect job to lead into the Marketing  department at that company. However, as I got further and further into the specifics and job functions of the ambassadorship, I quickly realized that this is not who I want to work for and not exactly what I want to do. Gotta learn somehow, right? Call it faith, call it fate, call it divine intervention, but I got a call from the Birmingham company not long into my ambassadorship, offering me a full-time, permanent job in the brand management team. Long story short, I move back to the grand ole South in a week {eeekk}. Big changes, a lot of “adult” conversations, but I could not be more excited to “restart” in Birmingham. That being said, I now have to decorate and furnish a new studio that I just secured. For the first time in my life, I will be living by my lonesome, which is exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time.

Finally, taking a break definitely gave me a new perspective on my creative outlet. I’ve come to realize that with growing up, with a transition between student and adult, I have also grown out of a few things. One of them, oddly enough, is this blog. I didn’t really know what I wanted this space to be about when I started. It was more of an aspiration to be like all the fabulous {or, at least fabulous on the surface} bloggers that I began following a few years ago. As I’ve learned more about what these ladies do, how they work, and what truly goes into managing and continually running a blog, I have felt the need to alter my direction a bit. I do want this to still be “my” space to organize, to post, and to share all of those bookmarks on my computer that don’t quite have a place to. I want it to be a place where conversation and creativity abounds. I also want it to be somewhere that embodies “me,” and right now RFM does not. I am in the process of designing a new blog, and I’ll post and transition to that new site as soon as it is done and perfect. So for now, stick tight. My posts may be spastic and random, but big things are on the horizon!

Until the new start-up occurs, stay tuned, and Go Cardinals!

 

via

Leave a Reply

